Foot Fault!

Calling all the lines of professional tennis

The Emancipation Of Mari-ri

As the moon likely turned a curious shade of blue and hell surely froze over, yesterday Marion Bartoli dropped a bombshell the size of faraway planets by announcing that she would be splitting from her father immediately and finally working alongside the FFT, with the hope of finally taking that step from the bottom echelons of the top ten into the top five and beyond.

“My dad will not be with me in Doha. Much has been discussed together. It is a joint decision, there is no argument, it is just the result of long reflection. It happened little by little, my father has always wanted the best for me and he told me that it might be better if I try something else to get what I want, a Grand Slam victory.

“I (speak to him) every day on the phone, there is no problem, I tell him what I do, we are always connected.

“For me the ideal would be to be with someone to help me win a Grand Slam and I think Amelie can. But it is to her you must ask the question, I cannot answer for her.

It will be fascinating to see how Marion reacts to this new, unfamiliar situation. Some of the scalps she has snatched in her career are victories all but the two most successful players above her could only dream about, and at her most dangerous she can stand to toe with any player. Despite that, there has always appeared to be a glass ceiling on her career, one that has evaded the likes of Stosur, Li and other players who have risen from below her to the top of the pecking order.

The question on most lips has forever been whether the success she has achieved in her career is because of her father’s…eccentric methods or in spite of them. As she endeavours to assemble a team complete with (yes) a fitness trainer, coach and others all working together for her benefit, we will soon find out.

3 responses to “The Emancipation Of Mari-ri

  1. Article Source May 20, 2013 at 9:16 am

    Thanks for a wonderful in addition to enlightening post We truly value all the effort which went in to the creating.

  2. Arielle June 14, 2013 at 11:58 am

    Everything is very open with a really clear description of the challenges.

    It was definitely informative. Your website is very useful.

    Many thanks for sharing!

  3. Anti Grey hair diet July 19, 2013 at 10:10 am

    No, I gray hair herbs am a marionette and he is the only
    guy wearing a white terrycloth bathrobe and carrying a fistful of phone messages.
    I started noticing lines forming in between my brows. Why the
    fuck I’ve agreed to do that again.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 239 other followers

